Can I be sent to jail for a DUI in South Carolina?

One question I am frequently asked is whether a person can be sentenced to jail for driving under the influence (DUI).  Most people are under the mistaken belief that jail time is not a possible sentence for a DUI conviction.  This is simply not true, even for those convicted of a first offense DUI. A first offense DUI conviction carries a possible 30 days in jail.  If you plead guily or no contest to DUI, the Court has the option to impose a fine or jail time.  Persons convicted of felony DUI face up to 25 years in prison.

In the Charleston, SC and surrounding areas, most people who are found guilty of misdemeanor DUI are sentenced only to pay a fine. However, there are several situations in which a Judge might impose jail time.  Examples of these include cases with high breathalyzer test readings, drinking and driving with others in the car, drinking and driving with young children in the car,  being involved in an accident, excessive rudeness towards the arresting officer, and possessing a firearm while intoxicated.  Your arresting police officer may also urge the Court to impose jail time regardless of what happened.

The best thing to do when charged with DUI in South Carolina is to take it seriously.  DUI convictions have consequences that last much longer than any possible time spent in jail.   

Charleston, South Carolina DUI Lawyers

Our DUI attorneys handle cases in the Charleston, North Charleston, Mt. Pleasant, Goose Creek, Hanahan, Summerville, Moncks Corner, SC areas.  We would be happy to discuss your case, and our consultations are free of charge. Contact our DUI defense lawyers today.

 

Share with Friends