What do I Face After My Arrest for DUI?

Facing a DUI charge can be a stressful time.  Most people are embarrassed, upset, and do not know what to do next.

 

DUI Penalties

The biggest concern for most people are the potential penalties for a first offense DUI conviction. If you are convicted of a first offense DUI and the breathalyzer test result shows a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.09 or less or you refused the test, a conviction will result in a sentence of 2 to 30 days in jail or a fine of roughly $1000.  If the breathalyzer test result shows a BAC of 0.10 to 0.15, a conviction results in a jail sentence of 3 to 30 days and a fine of roughly $1200.  If the breath test result shows a BAC of 0.16 or greater, a conviction results in a sentence of 30 to 90 days in jail or a fine of over $2000. The judge decides what your punishment will be after you have pled guilty or have been convicted.

A conviction for any first offense DUI results in a license suspension for a period of 6 months. Before being re-issued a drivers license you will have to enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP).  The cost of ADSAP ranges from $500 to $2500.  Additionally, SR-22 insurance must be purchased for a period of 3 years.

Furthermore, a DUI conviction will appear on your criminal record and can never be expunged, destroyed, or otherwise removed.

What can I do?

Please remember a charge of DUI is not the same as a conviction.  You have every right to fight your charge, and a South Carolina DUI Attorney can help you do that. If you have been charged with DUI in the Charleston area and are looking for a lawyer, please give us a call.  Our attorneys would be happy to discuss your case with you.

How does an attorney fight my DUI Charge?

When you are pulled over by a police officer and he suspects you have been drinking, he must collect evidence to show that you were too impaired to drive.  He does this by observing your conduct, including speech and balance, asking you questions, asking you to perform field sobriety tests, and asking you to provide breath, blood, or urine samples.  The evidence collected and issues surrounding a DUI case are complicated.  Furthermore, many local police officers have undergone extensive training on how to gather this evidence and how to present it at trial.  However, no one is perfect, including police officers, and often mistakes are made when collecting evidence and administering field sobriety and breath tests.  

What about my suspended license?

If your license is suspended because you refused the breath test or blew a 0.16 or higher, you have a right to appeal the suspension.  During the appeal process you can apply for a temporary alcohol license that will give you full driving privileges.  Remember, you only have 30 days to appeal the license suspension.

 

Charleston, South Carolina DUI Attorneys

The attorneys at Anderson & Schuster, LLC are here to assist you with your DUI charge.  When you call our office you will speak directly with an attorney about your DUI arrest.  We pride ourselves in giving all of our clients the prompt, personal service they deserve.  After all, fighting your DUI charge is one of your top priorities and we will make it one of ours as well. If you have been charged with DUI in the Charleston, Mount Pleasant, North Charleston, Hanahan, Goose Creek, James Island, West Ashley, Folly Beach, Summerville or Moncks Corner, SC areas, give us a call today so we can make an appointment to discuss your DUI arrest. Our DUI consultations are free of charge.

 

Share with Friends